

City and County of San Francisco Meeting Minutes

City Hall 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102-4689

City Operations and Neighborhood Services Committee

Members: John Avalos, Eric Mar, Sean Elsbernd

Clerk: Gail Johnson (415) 554-4445

Monday, February 14, 2011

10:00 AM

City Hall, Legislative Chamber, Room 250

Regular Meeting

Present: 3 - John Avalos, Eric Mar, and Sean Elsbernd

MEETING CONVENED

The meeting convened at 10:08 a.m.

REGULAR AGENDA

101287 [Liquor License - 1005 Minnesota Street]

Resolution determining that the issuance of a Type 42 on-sale beer and wine public premises license and the transfer of a Type 20 off-sale beer and wine license from Ferry Building, Market Place, Unit 33, the Embarcadero, to Wayne Garcia, for DIGWines, LLC, located at 1005 Minnesota Street (District 10), will serve the public convenience or necessity of the people of the City and County of San Francisco, in accordance with Section 23958.4 of the California Business and Professions Code, with conditions.

10/06/10; RECEIVED AND ASSIGNED to City Operations and Neighborhood Services Committee.

10/13/10; REFERRED TO DEPARTMENT. Referred to the Planning Department and the Police Department for review and approval of PCN request.

10/18/10; RESPONSE RECEIVED. The Planning Department recommends approval of the PCN request.

Heard in Committee. Speakers: Inspector Dave Falzon, San Francisco Police Department; Wayne Garcia; Susan Leslik, Vice President, Dog Patch Association; Lawrence Hagen; spoke in support of proposed liquor license.

PREPARED IN COMMITTEE AS A RESOLUTION APPROVING THE REQUEST WITH CONDITIONS

Resolution determining that the issuance of a Type 42 on-sale beer and wine public premises license and the transfer of a Type 20 off-sale beer and wine license from Ferry Building, Market Place, Unit 33, the Embarcadero, to Wayne Garcia, for DIGWines, LLC, located at 1005 Minnesota Street (District 10), will serve the public convenience or necessity of the people of the City and County of San Francisco, in accordance with Section 23958.4 of the California Business and Professions Code, with conditions.

RECOMMENDED AS COMMITTEE REPORT by the following vote:

Ayes: 2 - Avalos, Elsbernd

Absent: 1 - Mar

101491 [Hearing - Haight Ashbury Neighborhood Council's Recycling Center and Plant Nursery]

Sponsor: Mirkarimi

Hearing to review the status of the Haight Ashbury Neighborhood Council's Recycling Center and Plant Nursery and the role of recycling centers in reaching the City's goal of producing zero waste by 2020.

11/23/10; RECEIVED AND ASSIGNED to City Operations and Neighborhood Services Committee.

Heard in Committee. Speakers: Supervisor Mirkarimi; Phil Ginsburg, General Manager. Recreation and Park Department; Sarah Ballard, Director of Policy and Public Affairs, Recreation and Park Department; Marvin Yee, Landscape Architect, Community Gardens Program Manager, Recreation and Park Department; Melanie Nutter, Director, San Francisco Department of the Environment; Jim Rose, HANC; Calvin Welch, HANC; Ed Dunn, Director, HANC; Joey Kane, HANC; Carol Wilcabins; Sean McGeever; Isabel Wade; Richard Magary, Buena Vista Neighborhood Association; Michelle Welch, HANC; Greg Gaar, HANC Nursery; Robert Laws; Beatrice Laws; James Sword; Karen Crommie, Cole Valley Improvement Association; Female Speaker: Oscar Frick: Terry Wilari: Karen Fishkin. HANC and SAN: Arthur Boone. President. Northern California Recycling Association; Bruce Wolfe, Board of Directors, HANC; Quentin Mecke, Office of Assemblyman Ammiano; Annal Maria; Chuck Gimbel; Blair Randall, Executive Director, Garden for the Environment; Michael Job, HANC Recycle; Martha Hoffman; John Ferrari, President, Nexcycle; Elan Segarra; Merna Meyerson; Jerry Berbiar, HANCr; Jerry Lasley; Zeke Weiner; Denise D'Anne, SEIU - Local 1021; David Crommie; Matthew Levesque, Building Resources; Jane Morrison; Sonia Kilbarins; Linda Litehiser; Finn Cunningham; Christine Hall, HANC; Jane Nurre; Judith Berkowitz, Coalition for San Francisco Neighborhoods; Barbara Same; Gail Arteseros; Katherine Howard, Golden Gate Park Recreation Alliance; Sandra Mack; Dana Rosenberg; Jennifer Friedenbach, Director, Coalition on Homelessness; Sam Sapoznick, Gardens From Here; Mr. Offtub; Susan Englander, City College of San Francisco; Charile Lamar, HANC Recycling: Wayne Wiley, HANC: Peter Warfield: Colleen Rivecca, California Hunger Action Coalition; Richard Ivanhoe, President, HANC; Susan Strolis, Haight-Ashbury Improvement Association: Tess Welburn: Ellen Edelson: Denis Mosgofian: Walter Paulson.

CONTINUED TO CALL OF THE CHAIR by the following vote:

Ayes: 3 - Avalos, Mar, Elsbernd

SPECIAL ORDER - 4:00 PM

110074 [MUNI Youth Lifeline Discount Fast Pass Program Changes]

Sponsors: Campos; Mirkarimi, Avalos, Cohen, Kim, Mar and Chiu

Resolution urging the San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency to adopt changes to the Youth Lifeline Discount Fast Pass Program for qualified low-income youth.

01/25/11; RECEIVED AND ASSIGNED to City Operations and Neighborhood Services Committee. (Referred to Youth Commission.)

Heard in Committee. Speakers: Supervisor Campos; Chris Armistrat, San Francisco Unified School District; Commissioner, Board of Education; Janet Martinson, Municipal Transportation Agency; Maria Su, Director, Department of Children, Youth and Their Families; Joanne Abernathy, POWER; G. Gonzalez, POWER; Teresa Molina, POWER; Laura Calderon, POWER; Carmen Lee, POWER; Michelle Schndel, More Public Transit; Jose Martinez; A. Ho, SRO Families Collaborative; Manuela Esteva, POWER; Hillary Liang, Vice Chair, Youth Commission; Ava Benezra, Legislative Affairs Officer, Youth Commission; Jeff Koninsky; Reverend Israel Alvaran, Clergy and Laity United for Economic Justice; Loriez Epower; Emily Lee, Chinese Progressive Association; Deisha Banks, POWER; Naomi Fierro, Youth Commission; Marisol Beavlac, Youth Commission, Community Outreach Officer; Ms. Sersenower, Youth Commission; Margaret Reves; Joyce Sun, Youth Commission; Huimin "Happy" Yang, Youth Commission; Katie; Rola; Female Speaker; Roger Qu, AAA, Chinatown Community Development Center; Kon Trane; Ernest Stokes. POWER: Jesus Peru: Chervl Chan: Jorica Cavama. POWER: Ms. Historica: Estelle La Casias; Matt Rias, SRO Collaborative; Ms. Catito, PACK; Gracita Dimaano; Angelica Cabande; Mario Yedidia, Director, Youth Commission; Loria Lonez, POWER; Beth Risa, Organizer, POWER; spoke in support of the matter.

RECOMMENDED AS COMMITTEE REPORT by the following vote:

Ayes: 2 - Avalos, Mar Absent: 1 - Elsbernd

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 5:58 p.m.