## As Divided in Board 3/17/09

### FILE NO. 081592

[Appointments, Voting Systems Task Force]

MOTION NO. <u>M09-43</u>

2

1

3 کر

5

6 7

8 9

11

10

12 313

7513 7514 7514

> 16 17

18 19

202122

2324

25

Motion appointing Joanne Sanford, Brent Turner, Ka-Ping Yee, Gregory Miller, Beth Mazur, Tim Mayor, Elizabeth Bergman and Roger Donaldson, terms to be determined, to the Voting Systems Task Force, residency requirement waived.

Moved, That the Board of Supervisors of the City and County of San Francisco does hereby appoint the hereinafter designated persons to serve as members of the Voting System Task Force, pursuant to the provisions of the San Francisco Administrative Code Sections 5.400-410, for the terms specified:

Joanne Sanford, new assignment, seat 1, must represent good government groups, for two-year term to be determined.

Brent Turner, new assignment, seat 2, must represent good government groups, for two year term to be determined.

Ka-Ping Yee, new assignment, seat 3, must have substantial background in computer science or the software or computer industry, for two-year term to be determined.

Gregory Miller, new assignment, seat 4, must have substantial background in computer science or the software or computer industry, for two-year term to be determined.

Beth Mazur, new assignment, seat 5, must have substantial background in computer science or the software or computer industry, for two-year term to be determined.

Tim Mayor, new assignment, seat 6, must have substantial background in computer science or the software or computer industry, for two-year term to be determined.

Elizabeth Bergman, new assignment, seat 7, must have a background in or knowledge of election administration, for two-year term to be determined.

3

9

19

17

23

Roger Donaldson, new assignment, seat 8, must have a background in or knowledge of election administration, for two-year term to be determined.

FURTHER MOVED, That the Board of Supervisors makes the following findings:

- 1. The membership of the Voting Systems Task Force has a goal to be representative of the diversity of the City and County of San Francisco.
- Applicants Brent Turner, Elizabeth Bergman, Gregory Miller and Ka-Ping Yee new appointees, who are not a resident of San Francisco, are persons with experience that uniquely qualifies them to serve on the Voting Systems Task Force.
- 3. The Voting Systems Task Force has attempted to fill these positions, for which Brent Turner, Elizabeth Bergman, Gregory Miller and Ka-Ping Yee were nominated, with individuals who are City residents and who have the specific experience, skills, and qualifications, but has been unable to do so at this time. The Rules Committee has certified that Brent Turner, Elizabeth Bergman, Gregory Miller and Ka-Ping Yee are qualified to serve on the Voting Systems Task Force.
- 4. After exercising due diligence, the Board of Supervisors concludes that there are no other possible representatives, who are residents of San Francisco and who have the specific experience, skills, or qualifications possessed by these applicants, and who are willing to serve on the Voting Systems Task Force at this time; and, be it

FURTHER MOVED, That the Board of Supervisors waives the residency requirement for Brent Turner, Elizabeth Bergman, Gregory Miller and Ka-Ping Yee, as allowed in cases where no qualified City residents, willing to serve, can be found, pursuant to Section 4.101 of the City Charter that requires person(s) appointed to boards, commissions, and advisory bodies established by legislative act of the Board of Supervisors to be resident(s) of the City and County of San Francisco.



# City and County of San Francisco

City Hall 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102-4689

#### **Tails**

### Motion

File Number:

081592

Date Passed:

March 17, 2009

Motion appointing Joanne Sanford, Ka-Ping Yee, Gregory Miller, Beth Mazur, Tim Mayor, Elizabeth Bergman and Roger Donaldson, terms to be determined, to the Voting Systems Task Force, residency requirement waived.

March 17, 2009 Board of Supervisors — APPROVED AS DIVIDED

Ayes: 11 - Alioto-Pier, Avalos, Campos, Chiu, Chu, Daly, Dufty, Elsbernd, Mar, Maxwell, Mirkarimi

File No. 081592

I hereby certify that the foregoing Motion was APPROVED AS DIVIDED on March 17, 2009 by the Board of Supervisors of the City and County of San Francisco.

Angela Calvillo Clerk of the Board

File No. 081592