## [Appointment]

Resolution appointing Ann Togia, Rose Toney, Deanna Rossi, Marie Hoemke,
Mariaelena Alioto, Veroncia Lightfoot, Ann Melamed, Mary Higgins, Carolyn Noble, Peg
Strub, Carla Furtado, Ben Loewy, Beth Saiki, Barbara Conner Andersen, Julie McKown,
Lisa Kroon, Diedra Epps-Miller, John Balmes, and Micheal Walter Green, terms ending
June 30, 2003, to the Asthma Task Force, waiving residency requirement.

RESOLVED, That the Board of Supervisors of the City and County of San Francisco does hereby appoint the hereinafter designated persons to serve as members of the Asthma Task Force, pursuant to the provisions of San Francisco Administrative Code, Chapter 19A, Article II, for the term specified:

Ann Togia, new appointment, seat 1, must be a representative of community-based organization that provides advocacy related to asthma issues in San Francisco, for a new two-year term ending June 30, 2003;

Rose Toney, new appointment, seat 2, must be a representative of community-based organization that provides advocacy related to asthma issues in San Francisco, for a new two-year term ending June 30, 2003;

Deanna Rossi, new appointment, seat 3, must be a representative of childcare coordinating/advocacy organizations, for a new two-year term ending June 30, 2003;

Marie Hoemke (residency requirement waived), new appointment, seat 4, must be an individual who is either persons with asthma, the parent of a child with asthma, or an asthma patient advocate, for a new two-year term ending June 30, 2003;

Mariaelena Alioto, new appointment, seat 5, must be an individual who is either persons with asthma, the parent of a child with asthma, or an asthma patient advocate, for a new two-year term ending June 30, 2003;

Veroncia Lightfoot, new appointment, seat 6, must be an individual who is either persons with asthma, the parent of a child with asthma, or an asthma patient advocate, for a new two-year term ending June 30, 2003;

Ann Melamed, new appointment, seat 7, must be a representative of an environmental health/justice organization, for a new two-year term ending June 30, 2003;

Mary Higgins, new appointment, seat 8, must be a representative of an environmental health/justice organization, for a new two-year term ending June 30, 2003;

Carolyn Noble (residency requirement waived), new appointment, seat 9, must be a representative of a hospital association or health care provider institution, for a new two-year term ending June 30, 2003;

Peg Strub, new appointment, seat 10, must be a representative of a hospital association or health care provider institution, for a new two-year term ending June 30, 2003;

Carla Furtado, new appointment, seat 11, must be a representative of MediCal Managed Care Insurers, for a new two-year term ending June 30, 2003;

Ben Loewy, new appointment, seat 13, must be a representative of lung health/asthma-specific organizations, for a new two-year term ending June 30, 2003;

Beth Saiki, new appointment, seat 14, must be a representative of lung health/asthmaspecific organizations, for a new two-year term ending June 30, 2003;

Barbara Conner Andersen, new appointment, seat 15, must be an individual who represents health care professions working with asthmatics, for a new two-year term ending June 30, 2003;

Julie McKown (residency requirement waived), new appointment, seat 16, must be an individual who represents health care professions working with asthmatics, for a new two-year term ending June 30, 2003;

Lisa Kroon, new appointment; seat 17, must be an individual who represents health care professions working with asthmatics, for a new two-year term ending June 30, 2003;

Diedra Epps-Miller, new appointment, seat 18, must be an individual who is an academic researcher or educator concerned with asthma issues, for a new two-year term ending June 30, 2003;

John Balmes (residency requirement waived), new appointment, seat 19, must be an individual who is an academic researcher or educator concerned with asthma issues, for a new two-year term ending June 30, 2003;

Micheal Walter Green (residency requirement waived), new appointment, seat 22, must be an individual who represents tenant interests (non-voting member), for a new two-year term ending June 30, 2003; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Board of Supervisors makes the following findings:

- 1. The membership of the Asthma Task Force has a goal to be representative of the diversity of the City and County of San Francisco.
- 2. Applicants, Marie Hoemke, Carolyn Noble, Julie McKown, John Balmes, and Micheal Walter Green, new appointees, who are not resident of San Francisco, are persons with experience that uniquely qualifies him/her to serve on the Asthma Task Force.
- 3. The Asthma Task Force has attempted to fill the position, for which Marie Hoemke, Carolyn Noble, Julie McKown, John Balmes, and Micheal Walter Green were nominated, with individuals who are City residents and who have the specific experience, skills, and qualifications, but has been unable to do so at this time. The

Rules Committee has certified that Marie Hoemke, Carolyn Noble, Julie McKown, John Balmes, and Micheal Walter Green are qualified to serve on the Asthma Task Force.

4. After exercising due diligence, the Board of Supervisors concludes that there are no other possible representative, who are residents of San Francisco and who have the specific experience, skills, or qualifications possessed by these applicants, and who are willing to serve on the Asthma Task Force at this time; and, be it FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Board of Supervisors waives the residency requirement for Marie Hoemke, Carolyn Noble, Julie McKown, John Balmes, and Micheal Walter Green as allowed in cases where no qualified City resident, willing to serve, can be found, pursuant to Section 4.101 of the City Charter that requires person(s) appointed to boards, commissions, and advisory bodies established by legislative act of the Board of Supervisors to be resident(s) of the City and County of San Francisco.



## City and County of San Francisco Tails

City Hall 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102-4689

## Resolution

File Number:

011057

Date Passed:

Resolution appointing Ann Togia, Rose Toney, Deanna Rossi, Marie Hoemke, Mariaelena Alioto, Veroncia Lightfoot, Ann Melamed, Mary Higgins, Carolyn Noble, Peg Strub, Carla Furtado, Ben Loewy, Beth Saiki, Barbara Conner Andersen, Julie McKown, Lisa Kroon, Diedra Epps-Miller, John Balmes, and Micheal Walter Green, terms ending June 30, 2003, to the Asthma Task Force, waiving residency requirement.

July 2, 2001 Board of Supervisors — ADOPTED

Ayes: 11 - Ammiano, Daly, Gonzalez, Hall, Leno, Maxwell, McGoldrick, Newsom, Peskin, Sandoval, Yee

File No. 011057

I hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution was ADOPTED on July 2, 2001 by the Board of Supervisors of the City and County of San Francisco.

Clerk of the Board

JUL 1 3 2001

**Date Approved**