25

[Amending the terms of all Board of Supervisors' appointees to the Treasure Island/Yerba Buena Island Citizens Advisory Board.

Resolution amending the terms of all Board of Supervisors' appointees to the Treasure Island/Yerba Buena Island Citizens Advisory Board (the "TICAB") to be consistent with the Bylaws of the TICAB.

WHEREAS, Under the Treasure Island Conversion Act of 1997, which amended Section 33492.5 of the California Health and Safety Code and added Section 2.1 to Chapter 1333 of the Statutes of 1968 (the "Act"), the California Legislature (i) designated the Authority as a redevelopment agency under California redevelopment law with authority over former Naval Station Treasure Island (the "Base"), and (ii), with respect to those portions of the Base which are subject to the public trust for commerce, navigation and fisheries (the "Tidelands Trust"), vested in the Authority the authority to administer the Tidelands Trust as to such property; and

WHEREAS, The Board of Supervisors approved the designation of the Authority as a redevelopment agency with powers over Treasure Island in Resolution No. 43-98, dated February 6, 1998; and,

WHEREAS, On February 1, 1999, the Board of Supervisors adopted Resolution No. 89-99 urging the Authority to establish a citizens advisory board consisting of 25 members, 14 of whom to be appointed by the Mayor and 11 of whom to be appointed by the Board of Supervisors; and,

WHEREAS, Consistent with the intent of Board of Supervisors Resolution No. 89-99. on December 13, 2000, the Board of Directors of the Authority passed a resolution establishing the TICAB and approving the TICAB's Bylaws and members of the TICAB were

appointed to fixed terms of four years, beginning January 1, 2001 and terminating December 31, 2004; and,

WHEREAS, the TICAB has met monthly since December 2000, and has appointed members of the TICAB to serve on various subcommittees to advise the Authority on the future redevelopment of former Naval Station Treasure Island; and,

WHEREAS, The negotiations with the Navy and the master developer over the future redevelopment of former Naval Station Treasure Island have been complex, highly technical, and extensive, and have lasted longer than initially contemplated when the TICAB was created, and the Authority anticipates the need for the TICAB to continue to advise on such negotiations for an additional three to four years; and,

WHEREAS, The Authority believed it was beneficial to the project to maintain continuity of the TICAB members, who have developed extensive knowledge and experience specific to the project during the past several years; and,

WHEREAS, On November 10, 2004, the Board of Directors of the Authority approved an amendment to the TICAB's Bylaws to extend the terms of those TICAB members appointed in 2001 to December 31, 2007 and extending the terms of all other TICAB members to December 31, 2008; and,

WHEREAS, The Board of Supervisors wish to amend the terms of its appointees to the TICAB to be consistent with the TICAB's Bylaws; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That terms of all Board of Supervisor appointees to the TICAB appointed in 2001 shall expire on December 31, 2007, and the terms of all Board of Supervisor appointees to the TICAB appointed after 2001 shall expire on December 31, 2008.



## City and County of San Francisco Tails

City Hall 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102-4689

## Resolution

File Number:

050258

**Date Passed:** 

Resolution amending the terms of all Board of Supervisors' appointees to the Treasure Island/Yerba Buena Island Citizens Advisory Board (the "TICAB") to be consistent with the Bylaws of the TICAB.

February 22, 2005 Board of Supervisors — ADOPTED

Ayes: 11 - Alioto-Pier, Ammiano, Daly, Dufty, Elsbernd, Ma, Maxwell, McGoldrick, Mirkarimi, Peskin, Sandoval

File No. 050258

I hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution was ADOPTED on February 22, 2005 by the Board of Supervisors of the City and County of San Francisco.

MAR 0 3 2005

**Date Approved** 

Mayor Gavin Newsom

Gloria L. Young Clerk of the Board