### PREPARED IN COMMITTEE 9/22/16

### FILE NO. 161009

# MOTION NO. M16-137

[Appointments - Safer Schools Sexual Assault Task Force - Janelle White, Denise Sicat Wong, J. Ocean Mottley, Amelia Gilbert, Denise Caramagno, and Leslie Simon]

Motion appointing Janelle White (residency requirement waived), Denise Sicat Wong (residency requirement waived), J. Ocean Mottley (residency requirement waived), Amelia Gilbert, Denise Caramagno (residency requirement waived), and Leslie Simon, indefinite terms, to the Safer Schools Sexual Assault Task Force.

MOVED, That the Board of Supervisors of the City and County of San Francisco does hereby appoint the hereinafter designated persons to serve as members of the Safer Schools Sexual Assault Task Force, pursuant to the provisions of Administrative Code, Article X, Sections 5.10-1 through 5.10-7, for the terms specified:

Janelle White (residency requirement waived), seat 1, inaugural term, shall be held by a current or former employee, officer, or volunteer at a rape crisis center in the Bay Area, with experience or expertise in prevention, education, outreach, resources, and services (or survivors of sexual assault), appointed by the Board of Supervisors, for an indefinite term.

Denise Sicat Wong (residency requirement waived), seat 2, inaugural term, shall be held by a person with experience as a peer educator addressing prevention, education, or outreach regarding sexual assault, appointed by the Board of Supervisors, for an indefinite term.

J. Ocean Mottley (residency requirement waived), seat 3, inaugural term, shall be held by an advocate for survivors or witnesses of sexual assault, with expertise or experience in criminal justice proceedings or resources and support services (or survivors of sexual assault), appointed by the Board of Supervisors, for an indefinite term.

Rules Committee BOARD OF SUPERVISORS Amelia Gilbert, seat 4, inaugural term, shall be held by a survivor of sexual assault or an employee or representative from an organization that represents or counsels survivors, appointed by the Board of Supervisors, for an indefinite term.

Denise Caramagno (residency requirement waived), seat 5, inaugural term, shall be held by an employee, officer, or other representative of a local college, university, or other institution of higher education in the City, with experience or expertise in protocols, laws, and resources addressing sexual assault on campus, appointed by the Board of Supervisors, for an indefinite term.

Leslie Simon, seat 6, inaugural term, shall be held by an employee, officer, or other representative of a local college, university, or other institution of higher education in the City, with experience or expertise in protocols, laws, and resources addressing sexual assault on campus, appointed by the Board of Supervisors, for an indefinite term.

FURTHER MOVED, That the Board of Supervisors makes the following findings:

- 1. The membership of the Safer Schools Sexual Assault Task Force has a goal to be representative of the diversity of the City and County of San Francisco.
- 2. Applicants Janelle White, Denise Sicat Wong, J. Ocean Mottley, and Denise Caramagno, who are not residents of San Francisco, are persons with experience that uniquely qualifies them to serve on the Safer Schools Sexual Assault Task Force.
- 3. The Safer Schools Sexual Assault Task Force has attempted to fill the positions, for which Janelle White, Denise Sicat Wong, J. Ocean Mottley, and Denise Caramagno were nominated, with individuals who are City residents and who have the specific experience, skills, and qualifications, but has been unable to do so at this time. The Rules Committee has certified that Janelle White, Denise Sicat Wong, J. Ocean Mottley, and Denise Caramagno are qualified to serve on the Safer Schools Sexual Assault Task Force.

4. After exercising due diligence, the Board of Supervisors concludes that there is no other possible representatives, who are residents of San Francisco, and who have the specific experience, skills, or qualifications possessed by these applicants, and who are willing to serve on the Safer Schools Sexual Assault Task Force at this time; and, be it

FURTHER MOVED, That the Board of Supervisors waives the residency requirement for Janelle White, Denise Sicat Wong, J. Ocean Mottley, and Denise Caramagno, as allowed in cases where no qualified City resident, willing to serve, can be found, pursuant to Charter, Section 4.101(a)(2), that requires person(s) appointed to boards, commissions, and advisory bodies established by legislative act of the Board of Supervisors to be resident(s) of the City and County of San Francisco.



## City and County of San Francisco Tails

City Hall 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102-4689

## **Motion: M16-137**

#### File Number: 161009

#### Date Passed: October 04, 2016

Motion appointing Janelle White (residency requirement waived), Denise Sicat Wong (residency requirement waived), J. Ocean Mottley (residency requirement waived), Amelia Gilbert, Denise Caramagno (residency requirement waived), and Leslie Simon, indefinite terms, to the Safer Schools Sexual Assault Task Force.

September 22, 2016 Rules Committee - PREPARED IN COMMITTEE AS A MOTION

September 22, 2016 Rules Committee - RECOMMENDED

October 04, 2016 Board of Supervisors - APPROVED

Ayes: 11 - Avalos, Breed, Campos, Cohen, Farrell, Kim, Mar, Peskin, Tang, Wiener and Yee

File No. 161009

I hereby certify that the foregoing Motion was APPROVED on 10/4/2016 by the Board of Supervisors of the City and County of San Francisco.

Angela Calvillo Clerk of the Board