PREPARED IN COMMITTEE 9/13/17

FILE NO. 170970

MOTION NO. M17-138

[Appointments, Sugary Drinks Distributor Tax Advisory Committee - Vanessa Bohm, Kent Woo, Joi Jackson-Morgan, Roberto Ariel Vargas, Jonathan Butler, Areeya Chananudech, Janna Cordeiro, and Lyra Ng]

Motion appointing Vanessa Bohm, Kent Woo, Joi Jackson-Morgan (residency requirement waived), Roberto Ariel Vargas (residency requirement waived), Jonathan Butler, Areeya Chananudech, Janna Cordeiro, and Lyra Ng (residency requirement waived), terms ending December 31, 2018, to the Sugary Drinks Distributor Tax Advisory Committee.

MOVED, That the Board of Supervisors of the City and County of San Francisco does hereby appoint the hereinafter designated persons to serve as members of the Sugary Drinks Distributor Tax Advisory Committee, pursuant to the provisions of Administrative Code, Article IV, Sections 5.20 and 5.21, for the terms specified:

Vanessa Bohm, seat 1, new appointment, must be held by a representative of a nonprofit organization that advocate for health equity in communities that are disproportionately impacted by diseases related to the consumption of sugar-sweetened beverages, for an initial term starting on September 1, 2017, and ending on December 31, 2018.

Kent Woo, seat 2, new appointment, must be held by a representative of a nonprofit organization that advocate for health equity in communities that are disproportionately impacted by diseases related to the consumption of sugar-sweetened beverages, for an initial term starting on September 1, 2017, and ending on December 31, 2018.

Joi Jackson-Morgan (residency requirement waived), seat 3, new appointment, must be held by a representative of a nonprofit organization that advocate for health equity in communities that are disproportionately impacted by diseases related to the consumption of

sugar-sweetened beverages, for an initial term starting on September 1, 2017, and ending on December 31, 2018.

Roberto Ariel Vargas (residency requirement waived), seat 4, new appointment, must be an individual who is employed at a medical institution in San Francisco and who has experience in the diagnosis or treatment of, or in research or education about, chronic and other diseases linked to the consumption of sugar-sweetened beverages, for an initial term starting on September 1, 2017, and ending on December 31, 2018.

Jonathan Butler, seat 5, new appointment, must be an individual who is employed at a medical institution in San Francisco and who has experience in the diagnosis or treatment of, or in research or education about, chronic and other diseases linked to the consumption of sugar-sweetened beverages, for an initial term starting on September 1, 2017, and ending on December 31, 2018.

Areeya Chananudech, seat 6, new appointment, must be a person who is under 19 years old at the time of appointment and who may be a member of the Youth Commission, nominated by the Youth Commission and appointed by the Board of Supervisors, for an initial term starting on September 1, 2017, and ending on December 31, 2018. (Note: If the person is under legal voting age and unable to be an elector for that reason, the person may hold this seat, but upon reaching legal voting age, the person shall relinquish the seat unless he or she becomes an elector, in which case the person shall retain the seat.)

Janna Cordeiro, seat 15, new appointment, must be a parent or guardian of a student enrolled in the San Francisco Unified School District at the time of appointment, nominated by the San Francisco Unified School District's Parent Advisory Council, and appointed by the Board of Supervisors, for an initial term starting on September 1, 2017, and ending on December 31, 2018. (Note: If at any time the Parent Advisory Council declines to nominate a

member to a vacant seat for 60 days or longer, the Board of Supervisors may appoint a member of the public to fill the seat until next vacancy occurs.)

Lyra Ng (residency requirement waived), seat 16, new appointment, must be a person with experience or expertise in services and programs for children five years old and under, for an initial term starting on September 1, 2017, and ending on December 31, 2018.

FURTHER MOVED, That the Board of Supervisors makes the following findings:

- 1. The membership of the Sugary Drinks Distributor Tax Advisory Committee has a goal to be representative of the diversity of the City and County of San Francisco.
- 2. Applicants Joi Jackson-Morgan, Roberto Ariel Vargas, and Lyra Ng, who are not a resident of San Francisco, is a person with experience that uniquely qualifies her to serve on the Sugary Drinks Distributor Tax Advisory Committee.
- 3. The Sugary Drinks Distributor Tax Advisory Committee has attempted to fill the positions, for which Joi Jackson-Morgan, Roberto Ariel Vargas, and Lyra Ng were nominated, with individuals who are City resident and who have the specific experience, skills, and qualifications, but has been unable to do so at this time. The Rules Committee has certified that Joi Jackson-Morgan, Roberto Ariel Vargas, and Lyra Ng, are qualified to serve on the Sugary Drinks Distributor Tax Advisory Committee.
- 4. After exercising due diligence, the Board of Supervisors concludes that there is no other possible representatives, who are residents of San Francisco, and who have the specific experience, skills, or qualifications possessed by these applicants, and who are willing to serve on the Sugary Drinks Distributor Tax Advisory Committee at this time; and, be it

FURTHER MOVED, That the Board of Supervisors waives the residency requirement for Joi Jackson-Morgan, Roberto Ariel Vargas, and Lyra Ng, as allowed in cases where no

qualified City resident, willing to serve, can be found, pursuant to Charter, Section 4.101(a)(2), that requires person(s) appointed to boards, commissions, and advisory bodies established by legislative act of the Board of Supervisors to be resident(s) of the City and County of San Francisco.



City and County of San Francisco (新教) L

Tails

City Hall 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102-4689

 $\pm 2 \pi i \chi^4$

Motion: M17-138

File Number:

170970

Date Passed: September 19, 2017

Motion appointing Vanessa Bohm, Kent Woo, Joi Jackson-Morgan (residency requirement waived), Roberto Ariel Vargas (residency requirement waived), Jonathan Butler, Areeya Chananudech, Janna Cordeiro, and Lyra Ng (residency requirement waived), terms ending December 31, 2018, to the Sugary Drinks Distributor Tax Advisory Committee.

September 13, 2017 Rules Committee - PREPARED IN COMMITTEE AS A MOTION

September 13, 2017 Rules Committee - RECOMMENDED

September 19, 2017 Board of Supervisors - APPROVED

Ayes: 8 - Breed, Cohen, Fewer, Kim, Peskin, Ronen, Sheehy and Yee

Excused: 3 - Farrell, Safai and Tang

File No. 170970

I hereby certify that the foregoing Motion was APPROVED on 9/19/2017 by the Board of Supervisors of the City and County of San Francisco.

> Angela Calvillo Clerk of the Board